Cover Album
ALL ALBUMS

Acquisitions made in 2020

THE LATEST ADDITIONS TO THE COLLECTIONS

51 artworks
CSV
Themed album

Enriching the national collections is one of the Louvre’s core missions. Given the vast scope of its collections and the Louvre’s status as France’s leading museum, acquiring works is an important scientific and symbolic event. Acquired works are State property, and as such are inalienable and imprescriptible. Because it requires the use of public funds, acquiring works is a great responsibility.  

Works are chosen after review by a 24-member Acquisitions Committee. The Committee meets once a month to examine all projects – both those subject to payment and those offered to the museum for free –  put forward by the eight curatorial departments of the Louvre and the Musée National Eugène-Delacroix. The Committee expresses its opinion on the works, which are presented physically. Beyond a certain financial limit, the Artistic Council of National Museums is called upon to give its opinion. 

Funding for acquisitions is provided by a percentage of revenue collected from entry fees to the permanent collections; it is therefore directly linked to museum attendance. Beyond this particular budget, gifts in the form of donations and bequests, payments in kind and revenues from patrons (individuals, Friends of the Louvre groups, corporate sponsors) also provide financial resources for acquiring artworks.   
Cover image: statuette d'Apollon.

See more
Musée du Louvre
Last updated on 22 06 2021

Cover Album
TOUS LES ALBUMS

Nouvelles acquisitions 2020

L’actualité de l’enrichissement des collections

51 œuvres
CSV
Album thématique

L’enrichissement des collections nationales est l'une des missions fondamentales du Louvre et, en raison de l’étendue de ses collections et de son statut de premier musée de France, un important enjeu scientifique et symbolique. Parce qu’elles sont propriété de l’Etat, inaliénables et imprescriptibles, et nécessitent la dépense de fonds publics, les acquisitions représentent une responsabilité particulière. 

Les œuvres sont choisies à l’issue d’un processus collégial de consultation : la Commission des acquisitions (24 membres) se réunit chaque mois pour examiner la totalité des projets, onéreux ou gratuits, proposés par les 8 départements de conservation et le musée national Eugène Delacroix. Elle émet un avis sur les œuvres, qui lui sont présentées physiquement. Au-delà d’un certain seuil financier, le Conseil artistique des Musées nationaux, doit également se prononcer. 

Le financement des acquisitions est assuré par un pourcentage des recettes de droit d’entrée aux collections permanentes ; il est donc directement lié à la fréquentation du musée. Au-delà de ce budget propre, les libéralités (dons et legs), les apports en nature par dation et les ressources du mécénat (particuliers, sociétés d’Amis du musée, entreprises) permettent d’augmenter les ressources financières des acquisitions.
Image de couverture : statuette d'Apollon citharède.
 

Voir plus
Musée du Louvre
Dernière mise à jour le 22 06 2021